The Speaker, Delta House of Assembly, Monday Igbuya, representing Sapele constituency has been impeached for alleged incompetence, highhandedness and unacceptable leadership style
Igbuya was removed Thursday morning and a new Speaker, Hon Sheriff Oboriowori representing Okpe constituency in the state legislature, replaced him.

 At the plenary which was held in the hallowed chamber of the State House of Assembly and presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Friday Osanebi with both the Clerk and Sergeant-at-arms, the custodian of the mace in attendance, Hon Tim Owhefere, (Isoko North) was also removed as the Majority Leader and Hon Johnson Erijo, (Isoko South II) elected as the new Majority Leader.

The House upon reconvening for the day’s business, called for opening prayers, said by Hon. Alphonsus Ojo, representing, Ukwuani constituency and thereafter, Hon Johnson Erijo armed with a list of members and coming under matters of urgent public importance moved for the removal of the Speaker, Rt Hon Monday Igbuya.

Hon Erijo said the removal became necessary following the incompetence of the former speaker, highhandedness and his unacceptable leadership style, saying that for the House to move forward, a new Speaker was needed as the state legislature was key to the growth of democracy and development of the state.
The motion was seconded by Hon Peter Onwusanya, (Oshimili South) and was unanimously adopted, following which the Deputy Speaker who presided called for nomination of the new Speaker.
Hon. Peter Onwusanya then nominated Hon. Sheriff Oboriowori, Okpe constituency, seconded by Hon Daniel Mayuku, (Warri South West, while Hon Efe Ofobruku, Uvwie, nominated, Hon Eric Oharisi, (Ughelli North II), seconded by Hon Daniel Yingi, (Burutu 1).
The second nominee, Hon Eric Oharisi then announced his stepping down for the first nominee, Hon Sheriff Oboriowori, who he described as a brother and elder brother, commending the members that nominated him.
The Deputy Speaker, then put the nomination of Hon Sheriff Oboriowori to vote and was also unanimously carried.
Hon Oboriowori immediately swore to relevant oaths of office and allegiance as Speaker administered by the Clerk of the House, Mrs Lyna Ocholor. (Daily Trust)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *